USATF Mountain Ultra Trail Council Announces Runners of the Year

November 22, 2016

The Mountain/Ultra/Trail running (MUT) council of long distance running has named the 2016 USATF Mountain Runners of the year, Trail Runners of the Year, Ultra Runners of the Year, and Contributor of the Year. The following individuals will be recognized at the USATF Annual Meeting in Orlando, Florida in December.

Mountain Runners of the Year:

-Lyndon Ellefson Memorial Mountain Runner of the Year: Joseph Gray, 32, Colorado Springs, CO
-Master’s Man: Chris Grauch, 44, Boulder, CO
-Women’s Open: Addie Bracy, 30, Longmont, CO
-Master’s Woman: Anita Ortiz, 52, Eagle CO


Sub-ultra Trail Runners of the Year:

-Men’s Open: Sage Canaday, 31, Boulder, CO
-Men’s Master: Chris Grauch, 44, Boulder, CO
-Women’s Open: Megan Roche, 26, Sunnyvale, CA
-Master’s Woman: Christine Lundy, 46, Sausalito, CA

Ultra Trail Runners of the Year: 

-Men’s Open: Jim Walmsley, 26, Flagstaff, AZ
-Men’s Master: Paul Terranova, 42, Austin, TX
-Women’s Open: Megan Roche, 26, Sunnyvale, CA
-Master’s Woman: co-winners Bree Lambert, 48, San Jose, CA & Liza Howard, 44, San Antonio, TX

Ultra Road Runners of the Year:

-Ted Corbitt Memorial Ultra Runner of the Year: Tony Migliozzi, 27, North Canton, OH
-Men’s Master: Bob Hearn, 51, Portola Valley, CA
-Ruth Anderson Ultra Runner of the Year: Camille Herron, 33, Warr Acres, OK
-Master’s Woman: Pam Profitt Smith,42, Salem, OR

Contributor of the Year: Gary Cantrell a/k/a lazarus lake is the Contributor of the Year. Gary’s contributions to the ultrarunning community are widespread and unrivaled.  He has been a contributing writer for Ultrarunning magazine since the early 80s, a popular member of the ultralist community, and the founder of numerous unique ultra events including the infamous Barkley Marathons, Strolling Jim 40 Miler, the Last Annual Vol State, the Barkley Fall Classic and the Race for the Ages.

For a list of past winners in the other categories, please visit