USA Cycling Aligns Board with Broader Mission

March 17, 2021

Stapleton, Quirk, Barger, & Violich all take on leadership roles.

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – USA Cycling today announced new leadership roles in the Board of Directors intended to further champion participation, accessibility, and excellence in cycling, and to support CEO and President Rob DeMartini and his staff to achieve a clear and broader mission for USA Cycling.

In December, the Board of Directors approved new bylaws and a refocused Board structure to expand USA Cycling’s impact. The Board increased athlete representation, granting athletes four of eleven voting seats, and a greater voice in how the organization evolves as the Los Angeles 2028 Olympic Games draw closer. The new Board structure also allowed for four new at-large Directors to be added to bring broader experience and ideas to the organization.

“The voices on the board represent a new breadth of insights across the cycling community. Members like Ed [Ewing] and Lucia [Deng], have championed grassroots development and participation, and give a well-rounded view of how USA Cycling can better serve our members and the community as a whole,” said Bob Stapleton, the Chairman of the Board of Directors. “Julia [Violich], Matt [Barger], and Brendan [Quirk] provide perspectives from across the cycling industry and their remarkable business experiences.  We fully support USA Cycling’s leadership team and their plans to better engage, support and inspire both athletes and enthusiasts”.

Stapleton was re-elected as Chairman of the Board of Directors, and has served in that capacity since 2014. New leadership roles within the Board are Brendan Quirk, Vice-Chair of the Board and Chair of the Nominating & Governance Committee; Julia Violich, Chair of the Ethics Committee; and Matt Barger, Chair of the Audit, Finance, & Compensation Committee. Below is a listing of committees and their compositions.

Committee Chair Members
Audit, Finance, & Compensation Matt Barger Stephen Ettinger
Ed Ewing
Ethics Julia Violich Beth Hernandez
Reggie Miller
Nominating & Governance Brendan Quirk Lucia Deng
Bob Stapleton
Alison Tetrick
Arielle Verhaaren

USA Cycling Board of Director bios and information can be found at: https://usacycling.org/aboutus/boardofdirectors

Visit USACycling.org for more information on the athletes, events and membership programs, and follow @USACycling across all channels for the latest on Team USA.

For more information, contact Tom Mahoney at tmahoney@usacycling.org.

ABOUT USA CYCLING (usacycling.org)

USA Cycling is a member of the Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) and the United States Olympic & Paralympic Committee (USOPC). USA Cycling is the country’s national governing body for the sport of cycling and oversees the disciplines of road, track, mountain bike, cyclocross, and BMX. With a mission to develop the sport of cycling in the United States and to achieve sustained international racing success, USA Cycling supports cyclists at all levels, from those just beginning in the sport and participating in fun rides to seasoned professionals. The organization not only identifies, develops, and selects cyclists to represent the United States in international competition, but also supports amateur bike racing through grassroots development programs and the provision of critical infrastructure to run organized racing.

The non-profit 501(c)(3) is headquartered in Colorado Springs, Colorado, and celebrates its 100th anniversary in 2021. The organization began in 1921 as The Amateur Bicycle League of America, evolved to become the United States Cycling Federation in 1975, and ultimately USA Cycling, Inc. in 1995. USA Cycling’s members are comprised of racers and cyclists of all ages and abilities, coaches, officials, mechanics, and race directors.