Three To Enter Grandma’s Marathon Hall of Fame As Class Of 2023

June 6, 2023

Barno, Dock, Korte to Be Officially Inducted Friday, June 16

(DULUTH, MINN.) /ENDURANCE SPORTSWIRE/ – Elisha Barno, Dan Dock, and Barb Korte will all be inducted into the Grandma’s Marathon Hall of Fame as the Class of 2023, it was announced today.

The three-member class, being honored for making longstanding and meaningful contributions to the race and the community, will be officially enshrined during the Grandma’s Marathon Awards Luncheon at 12:00 p.m. on Friday, June 16 at The Garden Event Center.


Still the winningest men’s marathoner in race history, Barno enjoyed a streak of four straight victories at Grandma’s Marathon from 2015-18. His last title run of 2:10:06 still stands as the fourth-fastest men’s time ever in Duluth, trailing only Dominic Ondoro and Dick Beardsley.

Barno is the first athlete to enter the Hall of Fame since Amanda McGrory, who was part of the Class of 2017 after she won eight women’s wheelchair titles between 2007 to 2017.


Dock first started volunteering at the Grandma’s Marathon finish line nearly four decades ago and while his exact duties have changed over the years, his excitement to be part of a great community event has stayed the same.

“I can’t narrow it down to just a few favorite moments,” Dock admitted. “It’s been 37 years of wonderful memories. Every runner has a different path to Grandma’s Marathon and being at the finish line, I get to show up on race day and soak up all these different stories. This is a humbling honor, and I’m thankful to be included with all the great past Hall of Famers.”

Dock says his role in the early years was more labor-intensive with manual timing than it is today, but he’s been happy throughout his time to be part of the finish line crew. Whether it’s cheering as runners cross the finish line or being available to help those who are struggling, he says it’s a day he looks forward to each year.


Korte was a longtime Grandma’s Marathon Board member, being first elected in 1994 and twice serving as chairperson. Describing it as a working Board on which everyone had a role, Korte served many – she coordinated the spaghetti feed for several years and worked at the finish line on race day.

Maybe her biggest claim to fame, though, is helping to coordinate for more than two decades the annual cleanup of a section of the marathon’s racecourse along the Scenic Highway between Two Harbors and Duluth among other Board members.

“Running was my passion for many years,” she said. “I have made many friends and had lots of adventures thanks to running. I am proud to have served on the Board for so long and to have worked with others to make running more accessible to all ages in our community.”

With its three newest members, the Grandma’s Marathon Hall of Fame is now made up of 91 individuals, organizations, and municipalities, all of which have made great and lasting impacts on the race itself and the northern Minnesota community.

For any questions or interview requests, please contact Marketing & Public Relations Director Zach Schneider via phone at (218) 343-9874 or via email at zach@grandmasmarathon.com.


Class of 2022
Glenn Evavold
Jim Greenfield
Monica Halligan
Deb Pawlowicz
Rick Recker
Dick Skogg

Class of 2021

Class of 2020

Class of 2019
Kevin Peterson

Class of 2018
Jeff Frey
Lizette Mitchell
Deanna Nordeen

Class of 2017
Adele Hartwick
Amanda McGrory
Doug Nelson

Class of 2016
Joe Hietala
Erik Nelson
Kraig Rudstrom

Class of 2015
Tim Hollis
John Kessler

Class of 2014
Scott Keenan

Class of 2013
Carol Gallinger
Mike Krois
Rudy Lundahl
Saul Mendoza

Class of 2012
City of Duluth
City of Two Harbors

Class of 2011
Ron Francisco
Steve Harrington
Ed Hermel
GB Leighton
Chelly Townsend

Class of 2010
477th Medical Company
Chuck & Sally Hegg
John Leppi
Bill & Nancy Olsen
Kevin Pates

Class of 2009
John Docter
Steve Greenfield
Kellie Luedloff
Bill Wenmark

Class of 2008
Sharon Buchanan
Jerry Frederick
Jeno Paulucci
Mary Spiering

Class of 2007
Neil Franz
Greg Haynes
Dale Kusnierek

Class of 2006
North Shore Striders

Class of 2005
Candy Furo
Taire (Lind) Suliin


Class of 2004
Don Fennessy
Gino & Kathy Goedel
Michael Pinocci

Class of 2003
Candace Cable
Ken & Mona Rae Cich
John Kulick

Class of 2002
Rick Jackson
Joe Johnson
John Naslund
James Nowak

Class of 2001
Brian Daugherty
Jan Ettle
Brian Larsen
Paul Van Winkel

Class of 2000
Joan Dahlstrom
Herb Dillon
Cindy Nelson
Mac Welles

Class of 1999
David Eckstrom
Doug Kurtis
Lorraine Moller
Tami Oothoudt

Class of 1998
Dick Beardsley
Peter Graves
Barney & Janis Klecker
Wen Shi Yu

Class of 1997
Gerald Church

Class of 1996
Andy Borg
Garry Bjorklund
George Fink
John Foschi
Mickey Paulucci
Alex Ratelle
Dorothy Spencer



Grandma’s Marathon began in 1977 when a group of local runners planned a scenic road race from Two Harbors to Duluth, Minnesota. After seeing just 150 participants that year, the race weekend has now grown into one of the largest in the United States and welcomes more than 20,000 participants for its three-race event each June.

The race got its name from the Duluth-based group of famous Grandma’s Restaurants, the first major sponsor of the marathon. In addition to the 26.2-mile race, the organization has now added the Garry Bjorklund Half Marathon and William A. Irvin 5K to its weekend offerings.

As the popularity of Grandma’s Marathon has grown, our mission has stayed the same – to organize, promote, and deliver annual events and programs that cultivate running, educational, social, and charitable opportunities to our communities.

Grandma’s Marathon-Duluth, Inc. is a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt nonprofit organization with a nine-person, full-time staff and a 17-member Board of Directors.


Contact: Zach Schneider

Marketing & Public Relations Director


(218) 727-0947