USA Cycling Announces Medical Advisory Board

November 3, 2020

Chief Medical Officer, Dr. Michael Roshon, appoints six members to Medical Advisory Board.

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. –  Following the appointment of Dr. Michael Roshon as USA Cycling’s Chief Medical Officer, Dr. Roshon has developed a Medical Advisory Board appointing six members to the board for USA Cycling. The primary purpose of the Medical Advisory Board is to provide expert advice to support Dr. Roshon and USA Cycling’s goals of promoting athlete physical health, mental health and wellness. The members of the advisory board possess the necessary clinical skills and knowledge of cycling as well as familiarity with USA Cycling’s clinical guidelines and procedures.

In Dr. Roshon’s words, “The complexity of caring for athletes in all cycling disciplines, of all ages, and in diverse environments across the globe requires that we collaborate with the best physicians. This multidisciplinary group provides USA Cycling athletes and members access to true expertise and knowledge to manage that complexity.”

The goals of the Medical Advisory Board include, developing evidence-based practice guidelines that are specific to cycling, as well as supporting USA Cycling athletes at high-profile competitions. The board will also look to recruit and develop a medical team of providers capable of providing high caliber medical services to USA Cycling athletes.

“Our Athlete Well-Being Program was established in 2019 as a critical USA Cycling initiative. With the addition of Dr. Roshon, and the expertise of the Medical Advisory Board, we will continue to put our athletes first and provide the high-quality care they deserve,” said Jim Miller, Chief of Sport Performance.

The advisory board will be composed of five to eight experts in sports medicine and/or physiology with expertise in cycling and will be appointed by the Chief Medical Officer in consultation with the Chief of Sport Performance. The term of service will be two years with the option for reappointment. Dr. Jeffrey Shilt of Texas Children’s Hospital will serve as the Chairman of the Medical Advisory Board.

USA Cycling’s Medical Advisory Board

Steve D. Coupens, MD (Oklahoma City, Okla.; Orthopedic Surgery)
Tamara L. Lovelace, DC, DACBSP (Portsmouth, N.H.; Chiropractor Sports Director)
Lucianne H. Olewinski, MD (Knoxville, Tenn.; Primary Care Sports Medicine)
Matthew J. Panzarella, MD (Charlottesville, Va.; Orthopedic Surgery)
Jeffrey S. Shilt, MD (Houston, Tex.; Orthopedic Surgery)
Philip F. Skiba, DO, PhD (Chicago, Ill.; Primary Care Sports Medicine)

Visit USACycling.org for more information on the athletes, events and membership programs, and follow @USACycling across all channels for the latest on Team USA.

For more information, contact Dr. Michael Roshon at mroshon@usacycling.org

ABOUT USA CYCLING (usacycling.org)

USA Cycling is a proud member of the Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) and United States Olympic & Paralympic Committee (USOPC). Within the United States, USA Cycling is the national governing body for the sport of cycling and oversees the disciplines of road, track, mountain bike, cyclocross, and BMX. With a mission to develop the sport of cycling in the United States and to achieve sustained international racing success, USA Cycling supports cyclists at all levels, from those just beginning in the sport and participating in fun rides to seasoned professionals. The organization not only identifies, develops, and selects cyclists to represent the United States in international competition, but also supports amateur bike racing through grassroots development programs and the provision of critical infrastructure to run organized racing.

USA Cycling is headquartered in Colorado Springs, Colorado, and will celebrate its 100th anniversary in 2020. In 1920, the organization began as The Amateur Bicycle League of America and evolved to become the United States Cycling Federation in 1975 and ultimately USA Cycling, Inc. in 1995. USA Cycling’s 100,000+ members are comprised of racers and cyclists of all ages and abilities, coaches, officials, mechanics, and race directors.