Obiri, Sisson to Face Off in ASICS Falmouth Road Race

August 11, 2023

Gold Medalist Matt Centrowitz to Make Debut in Falmouth Elite Mile

FALMOUTH, Mass./ENDURANCE SPORTSWIRE/ – Two high-profile and highly-competitive women in distance running will headline the international elite field at next week’s ASICS Falmouth Road Race. Hellen Obiri and Emily Sisson, both making their Falmouth debut, will face off on the roads for the third time this year when they line up for the seven-mile race on Sunday, Aug. 20.

This year, Obiri has won half marathons in the United Arab Emirates and New York City before winning the Boston Marathon in April. Since her Boston victory, Obiri has also won the B.A.A 10K and was runner-up in the Mastercard New York Mini 10K. Last weekend, she won the Beach to Beacon 10K in Maine.

“The roads and the people of Massachusetts have been good to me so far this year,” said Obiri, a two-time world champion and two-time Olympic silver medalist for Kenya. “I know it will not be easy, but I hope I can keep my record going. It will be nice to test myself before I get back into my preparations for an autumn marathon.”

For Sisson, Falmouth is part of the build up to this fall’s Bank of America Chicago Marathon where she will attempt to lower her own American record of 2:18:29 in the event. This past January, she also set the American record in the half-marathon (since broken by Kiera D’Amato) and won the USATF 15km title for the third consecutive year.

“I have not had the chance to race Falmouth before, but I have wanted to ever since I started spending summers in New England,” said Sisson, a graduate of Providence College. “I’m excited for my first Falmouth Road Race to be in the build up to Chicago. I cannot wait to line up in a few weeks time!”

Other top contenders include 2021 Falmouth champion and last year’s runner-up Edna Kiplagat, U.S. 5K Champion Weini Kelati and reigning U.S. 10 Mile champion Fiona O’Keeffe.

Fresh off a victory at last week’s Beach to Beacon 10K in Maine, Addisu Yihune will attempt back-to-back New England wins. The 20-year-old Ethiopian leads the men’s field.

Last year’s third place finisher, David Bett is returning in 2023. Other contenders include 2022 Los Angeles Marathon champion John Korir, two-time Pittsburgh Half Marathon winner Wesley Kiptoo and 2019 NCAA Cross Country Champion Edwin Kurgat.

In the Wheelchair Division, sponsored by Spaulding Rehabilitation, Daniel Romachuk, who set the course record in 2019, will chase his fifth Falmouth win. He championed last year’s race by three and a half minutes over Hermin Garic, the 2021 Falmouth winner who is also returning this year.

In the women’s race, 2022 champion and course record holder Susannah Scaroni will defend her title. Scaroni has dominated the road circuit in 2023 winning the Boston Marathon, New York Mini 10K and AJC Peachtree Road Race in Atlanta. Scaroni will face 2021 women’s champion Emelia Perry and 2022 third place finisher Yen Hoang who won the B.A.A. 10K earlier this year.

The 51st running of the ASICS Falmouth Road Race is the culmination of an entire weekend of running that kicks off with the Falmouth Elite Mile, held this year on Friday evening for the first time. The women’s field is led by former Oregon standout Susan Ejore of Kenya and three-time NCAA Champion Dani Jones. It also includes Belmont, Massachusetts high school phenom Ellie Shea.

The men’s race will welcome the deepest men’s field in its history. Olympic gold medalist Matthew Centrowitz will make his first trip to Falmouth to toe the start line with some of the nation’s top middle-distance runners. Past winner Craig Engels also returns this year as does Seekonk, MA native Johnny Gregorek, a World Championship qualifier who won the Guardian Mile in Cleveland last month and Vince Ciattei who won last weekend’s Beale Street Mile in Memphis.

In the Wheelchair division, both Romanchuk and Garic will also compete as will Scaroni, Perry and Hoang in the women’s race.

“From the track to the roads, there is going to be exciting racing to witness all weekend in Falmouth,” said Jennifer Edwards, Executive Director of Falmouth Road Race, Inc. “It’s an honor to welcome so many legends and future legends of the sport who will lead our field of 10,000 to the finish line.”

The Falmouth Track Festival which includes the Falmouth Elite Mile will be held at 7 p.m. Friday, Aug. 18 at Falmouth High School. The ASICS Falmouth Road Race gets underway at 9 a.m. on Sunday, Aug. 20 with athletes running the traditional course starting in Woods Hole and ending at Falmouth Heights Beach.

For more information about the ASICS Falmouth Road Race, visit www.falmouthroadrace.com and follow the event on Facebook, Instagram, and YouTube.

ASICS Falmouth Road Race Women’s Elite Field

Bridget Belyeu USA
Jessica Broderick USA
Marybeth Chelanga USA
Victoy Chepngeno KEN
Buze Diriba ETH
Jacqueline Gaughin USA
Elena Hayday USA
Emma Grace Hurley USA
Momoka Kawaguchi JAP
Weini Kelati USA
Everlyn Kemboi USA
Edna Kiplagat KEN
Kim Kreznoski CAN
Michelle Kreznoski CAN
Cynthia Limo KEN
Sophie Murray IRL
Fiona O’Keeffe USA
Hellen Obiri KEN
Bethany Sachtleben USA
Andrea Seccafien CAN
Emily Sisson USA
Betsy Suda USA
Taylor Werner USA
Michaela Wood USA
Yumi Yoshikawa JAP

ASICS Falmouth Road Race Men’s Elite Field

Andy Bayer USA
Zack Beavin USA
Joey Berritua USA
David Bett KEN
Sam Chelanga USA
Craig Curley USA
Patrick Diver USA
Ehab El Sandali CAN
Kirubel Erassa USA
Yemane Haileselassie ERI
Wesley Kiptoo Kiptoo KEN
John Korir Korir KEN
Edwin Kurgat KEN
Tim McGowan USA
Clint Mckelvey USA
Amanuel Mesel ERI
Ahmed Muhamed USA
Kaisei Sugiyama JAP
Haruto Wakabayashi JAP
Antonio Wilson USA
Conner Winter USA
Adam Wood USA
Addisu Yihune ETH
Clayton Young USA

Women’s Wheelchair Division

Hannah Babalola NGA
Jenna Fesemyer USA
Yen Hoang USA
Emelia Perry USA
Susannah Scaroni USA
Madelyn Wilson USA

Men’s Wheelchair Division

Raphael Botsoyo GHA
Gary Brendel USA
Robert Costa USA
Matt Davis USA
Ulysses Elijah USA
Jason Fowler USA
Hermin Garic USA
Miguel Jimenez Vergara USA
Will Lehr USA
Delmace Mayo USA
Tony Nogueira USA/POR
Michael Olsen USA
Daniel Romanchuk USA
Krige Schabort USA

Falmouth Elite Mile Women’s Field

Laurie Barton USA
Maddy Berkson USA
Allie Buchalski USA
Micaela DeGenero USA
Ella Donaghu USA
Susan Ejore KEN
Katie Izzo USA
Dani Jones USA
Michaela Meyer USA
Kate Mitchell USA
Helen Schlachtenhaufen USA
Kristie Schoffield USA
Ellie Shea USA
Katie Wasserman USA

Falmouth Elite Mile Men’s Field

Jack Anstey USA
Matthew Centrowitz USA
Vince Ciattei USA
Austen Dalquist USA
Craig Engels USA
Johnny Gregorek USA
Ollin Hacker USA
Drew Hunter USA
Amon Kemboi KEN
Festus Lagat KEN
Thomas Ratcliffe USA
David Ribich USA
Paul Ryan USA
Josh Thompson USA
Henry Wynne USA

Falmouth Elite Mile Women’s Wheelchair Division

Susannah Scaroni USA
Yen Hoang USA
Hannah Babalola NGR
Emelia Perry USA

Falmouth Elite Mile Men’s Wheelchair Division

Daniel Romanchuk USA
Hermin Garic USA
Delmace Mayo USA
Miguel Jimenez Vergara USA


The Falmouth Road Race was established in 1973 and has become one of the premier running events of the summer season. Each year the race draws an international field of Olympians, elite athletes, and recreational runners to enjoy the iconic 7-mile seaside course. The nonprofit Falmouth Road Race organization is committed to promoting health and fitness through community programs and philanthropic giving.