Winners Announced in Glittering Ceremony at Global Triathlon Awards

January 21, 2023

Gustav Iden and Dame Flora Duffy Scoop Top Awards At Star-Studded Inaugural GTAs in Nice, France

January 20, Nice, France: World Champions Gustav Iden and Dame Flora Duffy were among the winners at a star-studded night at the Palais de la Mediterranee in Nice, France, for the inaugural Global Triathlon Awards (GTAs).

The GTAs brought together the very best in triathlon, from current and former world champion athletes from across triathlon distances and eras, as well as leaders in the sport and cutting-edge brands and media, to celebrate and recognise outstanding contributions across the industry.

GTA partnered with Super League Triathlon, World Triathlon, Professional Triathlete’s Organisation, France’s Department 06 and Ekoi for the inaugural 2023 event.

A glittering ceremony hosted by Will McCloy and endurance sports legend Paula Radcliffe, saw Norwegian Gustav Iden and Bermuda’s Dame Flora Duffy walk away with the Male and Female Athlete of the Year Awards. Chelsea Sodaro took the Rookie of the Year Award, while Talbot Cox was named as Outstanding Contributor.

The coveted Lifetime Kudos Award – Contributor went to the legendary Bob Babbitt while the athlete Award was given to Nicola Spirig. Other winners included FORM Smart Swim Goggles, Zwift Hub, LEVER System, Maurten Hydrogel and Supersapiens.

Gustav Iden said: “I made a deal with Kristian (Blummenfelt) that no matter who won we would applaud so I looked over to Kristian and saw he was disappointed but still applauded so that was so good and it is so good to be appreciated by your peers. I think I am a worthy winner but so would the other nominees have been.”

Dame Flora Duffy said: “I am really proud to have won and definitely surprised because the women I was up against had incredible performances last year. The GTAs was so fun. I have never been to an evening like this for triathlon, never got dressed up or seen everyone so dressed up that I had to do a few double takes. It was a very special night and may this continue to happen year after year.”

All but the Kudos Awards were nominated by the public, with an expert judging panel of industry experts then whittling down the shortlist and picking the final winners. For 2023, the panel included Jordan Blanco, Stephane Diagana, Emma-Kate Lidbury, Tim Don and Chelsea Burns.


Best Male Triathlete (Sponsored by Super League Triathlon): Gustav Iden

Best Female Triathlete (Sponsored by PTO): Dame Flora Duffy

Rookie of the Year (Sponsored by World Triathlon): Chelsea Sodaro

Outstanding Contributor (Sponsored by EKOI): Talbot Cox

The Lifetime Kudos – Contributor: Bob Babbitt

The Lifetime Kudos – Pro Triathlete (Sponsored by Department 06): Nicola Spirig

Best Swim Product: FORM Smart Swim Goggles

Best Bike Product: Zwift Hub

Best Run Product: LEVER System

Outstanding Nutrition Product: Maurten Hydrogel

Outstanding Tech Product (Sponsored by Department 06): Supersapiens

Please find here a link to download a selection of imagery for the event: https://we.tl/t-k3O4HDxm0o

Images are free to use in editorial about the Global Triathlon Awards. Credit: Activimages