USA Cycling Names 2020 UCI Cycling Esports World Championship Teams

October 16, 2020

Following the USA Cycling Esports Trials last Sunday, 5 men and 6 women have been named to the first-of-its-kind Worlds Team

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – USA Cycling announced on Friday the athletes who will represent the United States at the 2020 UCI Cycling Esports World Championships, a first of its kind competition hosted by Zwift. This new event will take place on December 8-9, 2020 within Watopia, the world’s biggest virtual cycling destination, where both the men and women will race on identical courses, over equal distances and for equal prize money.

USA Cycling hosted the Esports Trials on October 11th, where the top three riders in the men’s and women’s categories were granted spots on Team USA. The trials gave an opportunity to many riders who may not have otherwise had a chance to race on a world-class team.

“This year has been about adaptability. We’re excited that we have been able to provide a virtual race series this year to keep our members engaged through the pandemic, now they have the opportunity to take that training to the world stage, all from the comfort of their home,” said Jeff Pierce, USA Cycling’s Director of Elite Athletics for Road and Track.

Riders to highlight include Laura Matsen Ko (Seattle, Wash.; Evoq.bike p/b Enshored) and Lauren Stephens (Mesquite, Texas; Team TIBCO Silicon Valley Bank) who are both ranked first and second, respectively, on the world-wide overall ZwiftPower Rankings, along with Kristen Kulchinsky (Dix Hills, N.Y.) and Christie Tracy (Austin, Texas; Saris + The Pro’s Closet) sitting ninth and tenth, respectively. Brian Hodges (Shoreline, Wash.; Evoq.bike p/b Enshored) is the overall top ranked rider on the men’s ZwiftPower Rankings, with Ryan Larson (Galloway, N.J.) in 15th.

The Team USA roster competing for the prestige of being the first Cycling Esports World Champion is as follows:

Elite Men:

Brian Hodges (Shoreline, Wash.; Evoq.bike p/b Enshored)
Jadon Jaeger (Wauwatosa, Wis.; Adapt Cycling)*
Ryan Larson (Galloway, N.J.)
Tanner Ward (Little Rock, Ark.; First Internet Bank)*
Tyler Williams (Santa Rosa, Calif.; L39ION LA)*

Elite Women:

Jacqueline Godbe (Chicago, Ill.)*
Krista Doebel-Hickok (Marina del Rey, Calif.; Rally Cycling)*
Laura Matsen Ko (Seattle, Wash.; Evoq.bike p/b Enshored)*
Kristen Kulchinsky (Dix Hills, N.Y.)
Lauren Stephens (Mesquite, Texas; Team TIBCO Silicon Valley Bank)
Christie Tracy (Austin, Texas; Saris + The Pro’s Closet)

*Athletes earned their qualification with a top 3 finish at the 2020 USA Cycling Esports Trials that took place on October 11th.

The complete selection criteria is available here.

To cheer for Team USA at the 2020 World Championships, please follow @UCI_Cycling and @USACyclingLIVE on Twitter. For more about the 2020 UCI Cycling E-Sports World Championships, please visit the event website.

Visit USACycling.org for more information on the athletes, events and membership programs, and follow @USACycling across all channels for the latest on Team USA.

For more information, contact Angelina Palermo at apalermo@usacycling.org

ABOUT USA CYCLING (usacycling.org)

USA Cycling is a proud member of the Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) and United States Olympic & Paralympic Committee (USOPC). Within the United States, USA Cycling is the national governing body for the sport of cycling and oversees the disciplines of road, track, mountain bike, cyclocross, and BMX. With a mission to develop the sport of cycling in the United States and to achieve sustained international racing success, USA Cycling supports cyclists at all levels, from those just beginning in the sport and participating in fun rides to seasoned professionals. The organization not only identifies, develops, and selects cyclists to represent the United States in international competition, but also supports amateur bike racing through grassroots development programs and the provision of critical infrastructure to run organized racing.

USA Cycling is headquartered in Colorado Springs, Colorado, and will celebrate its 100th anniversary in 2020. In 1920, the organization began as The Amateur Bicycle League of America and evolved to become the United States Cycling Federation in 1975 and ultimately USA Cycling, Inc. in 1995. USA Cycling’s 100,000+ members are comprised of racers and cyclists of all ages and abilities, coaches, officials, mechanics, and race directors.