USA Triathlon Announces 2013 Athletes of the Year

March 3rd, 2014

Elites, juniors, duathletes, triathletes, and off-road triathletes honored for top performances

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — USA Triathlon has recognized the 2013 Athletes of the Year, honoring multisport athletes for top finishes and national and world titles throughout the past season from age-groupers to juniors and elites in triathlon, duathlon and off-road triathlon.

The 2013 Elite Triathletes of the Year were highlighted by Gwen Jorgensen (St. Paul, Minn.) and her historic win at the Omegawave World Triathlon San Diego. Elite competitors nominated eligible athletes with the award selection being made by the USA Triathlon Athlete Advisory Council (AAC). For the first time in 2013, Paratriathletes of the Year were selected by the AAC, with top honors going to Megan Fisher (TRI-5, Seattle, Wash.) and Aaron Scheidies (TRI-6b, Seattle, Wash.).  A full list of elite winners is available here.

Tamara Gorman and Tony Smoragiewicz, Junior Elite triathlon phenoms from Rapid City, S.D., were named as the 2013 Junior Triathletes of the Year. Gorman and Smoragiewicz also earned recognition on USA Triathlon’s list of Junior Elite and Youth Elite All-Americans, which is based on their final national ranking and performance in top junior and youth draft-legal events.

Kirsten Sass and Dan Stubleski received honors as the top amateur triathletes of 2013. The awards headline the announcement of the 2013 Age-Group Triathletes of the Year, presented by Garmin, an honor awarded annually by USA Triathlon’s Age Group Committee.

The Age Group Committee also selected the Duathletes of the Year, the nation’s top age-group, junior and elite duathletes, recognized for outstanding performances in the United States and abroad. Alex Arman (St. Charles, Ill.) and Jenn Scudiero (Eagan, Minn.) were named the overall Duathletes of the Year, with the complete listing presented here.

Finally, the first-ever recognition of the 2013 Off-Road Triathletes of the Year celebrated athletes for outstanding performances on challenging courses featuring an open water swim, mountain bike and a trail run. Amateur athletes Matthew Balzer (Reno, Nev.) and Hannah Rae Finchamp (Altadena, Calif.) earned Off-Road Triathlete of the Year accolades, and Josiah Middaugh (Boulder, Colo.) and Emma Garrard (Park City, Utah) were named Elite Off-Road Triathletes of the Year for 2013.

In addition to athlete of the year awards, USA Triathlon Certified Coaches Kathleen Johnston and Mike Ricci have been named the 2013 USA Triathlon Coaches of the Year for their successes within the developmental pipeline and the collegiate triathlon scene. Read more here.

About USA Triathlon Founded in 1982, USA Triathlon is proud to serve as the National Governing Body for triathlon – the fastest growing sport in the U.S. Olympic Movement – as well as duathlon, aquathlon, aquabike, winter triathlon, off-road triathlon and paratriathlon in the United States. USA Triathlon sanctions more than 4,300 races and connects with more than 550,000 members each year, making it the largest multisport organization in the world. In addition to its work with athletes, coaches and race directors on the grassroots level, USA Triathlon provides leadership and support to elite athletes competing at international events, including International Triathlon Union (ITU) World Championships, Pan American Games and the Olympic and Paralympic Games. USA Triathlon is a proud member of the ITU and the United States Olympic Committee (USOC).

USA Triathlon

USA Triathlon Announces 2013 Athletes of the Year

Contact Info

Lindsay Wyskowski

Share This Article


Submit Your Press Release

Get your news delivered to thousands of media contacts and industry insiders in the running, cycling and triathlon industries now.


Join ESW Today!