Olympic Gold Medalist to Race XTERRA Worlds

October 5th, 2011


October 5, 2011 (Honolulu, HI) – Germany’s Jan Frodeno is the latest in a series of world-class athletes to announce they’re headed off-road, keen on discovering the “fun” of XTERRA.

The men’s triathlon gold medalist at the 2008 Summer Olympics in Beijing recently announced he will join more than 70 other professionals at the 16th annual XTERRA World Championship in Maui on October 23, 2011.

“I still love racing ITU and short distance, but after a not-so-successful year I’m hoping to turn my luck with a race simply to have FUN at,” wrote Frodeno on his blog.

Other endurance sport icons who recently discovered the dirty side of triathlon in hopes of having some fun included 7-time Tour de France Champion Lance Armstrong and two-time Ironman Hawaii World Champion Tim DeBoom, who both raced at the XTERRA USA Championship in Utah on Sept. 24.  Armstrong placed 5th, while DeBoom was 14th in a stacked pro field.

In Maui the elite field gets even stronger with some of the world’s finest athletes including past Olympians like Conrad “the Caveman” Stoltz (South Africa), Eneko Llanos and Ivan Rana (Spain), and Olivier Marceau (Switzerland), Adventure Racing World Champion Richard Ussher (New Zealand), Winter Triathlon World Champion Nicolas Lebrun (France), and America’s most versatile multisport star Josiah Middaugh.

Here’s a look at the tentative pro start list for the XTERRA World Championship:


(Place at last year’s XTERRA World Championship) – Name – Age, Hometown
(1) – Conrad Stoltz – 38, Stellenbosch, South Africa
(3) – Michael Weiss – 30, Vienna, Austria
(4) – Olivier Marceau – 38, Switzerland
(5) – Nicolas Lebrun -38, Digne-les-Bains, France
(6) – Eneko Llanos – 34, Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain
(7) – Richard Ussher – 35, Nelson, New Zealand
(9) – Mike Vine – 38, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
(10) – Jim Thijs – 31, Huldenberg, Belgium
(12) – Ronny Dietz  – 33, Chemnitz, Germany
(13) – Jan Kubicek – 31, Chodov City, Czech Republic
(15) – Branden Rakita – 30, Manitou Springs, Colorado
(17) – Sam Gardner – 36, Surrey, United Kingdom
(18) – Cedric Lassonde – 35 , London, United Kingdom
(20) – Cody Waite – 33, Lakewood, Colorado
(24) – Brad Zoller – 34, Avon, Colorado
(25) – Felipe Moletta – 24, Sao Jose Dos Pinhais, Brazil
(29) – Adam Wirth – 32, Boise, Idaho
(32) - Josiah Middaugh – 33, Vail, Colorado
(34) – Frederico Zacharias – 29, Cruzeiro Do Sul, Brazil
(35) – Yu Yumoto – 33, Tokyo, Japan
(36) – Dan Hugo – 26, Stellenbosch, South Africa
Ben Allen – 26, North Wollongong, Australia
Jimmy Archer – 39, Boulder, Colorado
Brian Astell – 30, Gualala, California
Simone Calamai – 42, Florence, Italy
Victor Morales – 31, Santa Oliva, Spain
Tim DeBoom – 40, Boulder, Colorado
Pierre Facomprez – 28, Nervers, France
Jan Frodeno – 30, Cologne, Germany
Denis Giovannetti – 38, Pistoia, Italy
Kelly Guest – 34, Victoria, B.C., Canada
Llewellyn Holmes – 29, Bristol, United Kingdom
Chris Legh – 38, Lyons, Colorado
Jason Michalak – 33, Lakewood, Colorado
Antonello Pallotta – 37, Acquapendente, Italy
Ivan Rana – 39, Ordes, Spain
Cid Santos – 29, Natal, Brazil
Marco Silva Junior – 44, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Richard Stannard – 37, Surrey, United Kingdom
Graham Wadsworth – 29, Bristol, United Kingdom
Marcel Zamora – 33, Barcelona, Spain


(Place at last year’s XTERRA World Championship) – Name – Age, Hometown
(2) – Julie Dibens – 36, Bath, United Kingdom
(3) – Marion Lorblanchet – 28, Clermont Ferrand, France
(5) – Suzie Snyder – 29, Stafford, Virginia
(6) – Carina Wasle – 27, Kundl, Austria
(7) – Lesley Paterson – 31, San Diego, California
(8) – Sara Tarkington – 30, Boulder, Colorado
(10) – Emma Garrard – 30, Park City, Utah
(11) – Melanie McQuaid – 38, Victoria, B.C., Canada
(12) – Danelle Kabush – 36, Calgary, Alberta, Canada
(13) – Mieko Carey – 33, Saipan, Northern Marianas
(18) – Sabrina Enaux – 33, Taintrux, France
Renata Bucher – 34, Lucerne, Switzerland
Caroline Colonna – 47, Taos, New Mexico
Fabiola Corona – 31, Mexico City, Mexico
Kelley Cullen – 31, New Castle, Colorado
Elisabetta Curridori – 20, Villacidro, Italy
Erin Densham – 26, Melbourne, Australia
Catherine Dunn – 50, Wellington, New Zealand
Helena Erbenova – 32, Czech Republic
Karen Hanlen – 31, Whakatane, New Zealand
Brandi Heisterman – 36, Brackendale, B.C., Canada
Jessica Noyola – 29, San Diego, California
Brigitta Poor – 22, Sopron, Hungary
Carla Prada – 40, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Brandyn Roark – 32, Seattle, Washington
Tanis Tomlin – Cranbrook, B.C., Canada
Manuela Vilaseca – 32, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

The beauty of this year’s race is that it will be contested on a brand new course at Kapalua Resort on the northwest coast where Maui Land & Pineapple Company’s 22,000 acre backyard stretches from the mountains to the sea.

The race combines a 1.5-kilometer roughwater swim at D.T. Fleming Beach, a 30-kilometer mountain bike on the lower slopes of the West Maui Mountains, and a 10-kilometer trail run.

The maxed-out field is limited to 650 amateur and professional competitors, who represent the best off-road, multisport athletes on the planet.  It is a “winner take all” race, with one of the richest pro purses in multisport at $100,000, and it will be filmed for a nationally broadcast TV show. Last year, South Africa’s Conrad “the Caveman” Stoltz became the first pro to win a fourth XTERRA World Title.  American Shonny Vanlandingham, who will miss this race while recovering from knee surgery, won the women’s title.

A special prime, the Hawaiian Airlines Double, will pay $2,500 to the man and woman with the fastest combined Hawaii Ironman and XTERRA World Championship time and award round trip tickets for two to leading amateurs.  Only two weeks and a narrow channel of ocean separate the two events, which each year attract some of the world’s fittest endurance athletes.

A pair of the finest hoteliers in the world will host competitors. Race headquarters will be at The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, with Outrigger Hotels & Resorts’ Maui Condominium Collection properties as a co-host.

The XTERRA World Championship is presented by the Maui Visitors Bureau, Paul Mitchell, and Hawaiian Airlines. Sponsors include Kapalua Resort, The Ritz-Carlton Kapalua, Outrigger Hotels & Resorts, GU, Gatorade, Zorrel, Kona Brewing Company, Hawaii Tourism Authority, and the XTERRA Alliance – Vitality, Cycling, Wetsuits, Footwear, Fitness and Flex.

For more information visit www.xterramaui.com

About TEAM Unlimited/XTERRA

TEAM Unlimited is a Hawaii-based television events and marketing company, founded in 1988.  It owns and produces XTERRA and in 2011 will produce nearly 200 XTERRA off-road triathlon and trail running races in 15 countries worldwide.  There are 40,000+ competitors from all 50 states and more than 40 countries competing in XTERRA.  In addition, TEAM TV has produced more than 300 adventure television shows resulting in three Emmy’s and 42 Telly Awards for production excellence. View samples at www.xterra.tv, and learn more at xterraplanet.com.



Olympic Gold Medalist to Race XTERRA Worlds

Contact Info

Trey Garman

Share This Article


Submit Your Press Release

Get your news delivered to thousands of media contacts and industry insiders in the running, cycling and triathlon industries now.


Join ESW Today!