Maui Welcomes World’s Best, XTERRA Style

October 11th, 2013

Maui Welcomes World’s Best, XTERRA Style

The 18th edition of the XTERRA World Championship on October 27 at Kapalua, Maui will feature one of the greatest collections of elite athletes in event history.

October 11, 2013 (Honolulu, HI) – The 18th edition of the XTERRA World Championship on October 27 at Kapalua, Maui will feature one of the greatest collections of elite athletes in event history.

There are more than 70 pros representing 20 countries on the tentative pro start list including some of the biggest names from the XTERRA, ITU, 70.3, duathlon, winter triathlon and mountain bike racing scenes.  Of note, every pro on the start list qualified for Maui by racing in at least one XTERRA major this season.

With last year’s winner Javier Gomez not on the start list, the “favorites” focus shines on XTERRA icons Conrad Stoltz and Josiah Middaugh.  Stoltz has won an unprecedented four XTERRA World titles and captured his third straight ITU Cross Tri World Championship this summer.  Middaugh, who finished 2nd place less than a minute behind Gomez at Worlds last year, won the XTERRA U.S. Pro Series crown this season.

“Josiah Middaugh has to be the favorite,” said XTERRA managing director Dave Nicholas.  “In 2012 he beat everybody in the field by over 2 minutes, except one, but Javier Gomez is not at Maui to defend his crown and Josiah has shown both the speed and the mental toughness to bring the World Title back to the USA.  It will not be easy as Conrad Stoltz is looking unbelievably strong on the bike and wants that 5th title badly.”

Leonardo Chacon from Costa Rica upset both Stoltz and Middaugh to win the USA Championship race in Utah last month and was fourth in Maui last year.  2008 XTERRA World Champ Ruben Ruzafa and XTERRA European Tour champ Hector Guerra represent the hopes of Spain.

Ben Allen won more World Tour championships than anyone this year with seven.  Dan Hugo makes his return to the Kapalua course where he was just seconds shy of winning the 2011 crown.  Brent McMahon is a speedster who’s finished in the top six four times, including a pair of 3rd-place showings.

There’s a cast of experienced Euro Tour stars in the mix including Yeray Luxem, Asa Shaw, Nico Lebrun, Olivier Marceau, Felix Schumann, and Kris Coddens.

Among all the heavy hitters two XTERRA World Championship first-timers stand-out, Olympians Courtney Atkinson from Australia and Richard Murray from South Africa.  Both won their home country XTERRA Championship races and bring world-class speed to the sandy shores of Maui.

The field is just as deep for the women although the “Scottish Rocket” Lesley Paterson, with her two world titles and seven straight XTERRA victories, is clearly the woman to beat.

The reigning and two-time XTERRA European Tour champ Helena Erbenova got the best of Paterson at ITU Cross Tri Worlds this summer, but Paterson wasn’t 100% for that race.  And last year in Maui Erbenova was shackled with an injury that kept her from her best.

“You can’t look at the women’s field without seeing Lesley Paterson as the favorite,” said Nicholas.  “Super Czech pro Helena Erbenova handed the little Scot her only loss this year at the ITU race in Holland but Les was not at her physical finest there.  Erbenova is the real deal though, and has dominated Europe for two seasons now.”

Barbara Riveros was just 2nd to Paterson at the USA Champs in Utah, and was 2nd in Maui last year as well.  Heather Jackson is the top American female returner, she placed 4th last year and was the runner-up at 70.3 Worlds last month.  Emma Garrard was the top American at the USA Championship last month, finishing fourth behind only Paterson, Riveros, and Chantell Widney.

This will be the first Maui attempt for Widney, who was 3rd at the ITU Cross Tri Worlds this year. She’s part of a Canadian contingent that will be in full force with 3x XTERRA World Champion Melanie McQuaid, two-time runner-up Danelle Kabush, Brandi Heisterman, Christine Jeffrey, and Katie Button.

Jacqui Slack and Renata Bucher won four XTERRA World Tour races a piece this year, and are joined by fellow Euro Tour star Kathrin Muller.

The U.S. can pull for its last two national champions – Shonny Vanlandingham and Suzie Snyder; while other notables include Nicky Samuels, Liz Orchard, and Sarah Backler from New Zealand and Carla Van Huyssteen from South Africa.

2013 also marks the return of three-time World Champ Julie Dibens, who dominated from 2007-2009.  Indeed a regal field with Dibens, Paterson, Vanlandingham, and McQuaid accounting for every XTERRA World title since 2005.

Here’s a look at the tentative start list for XTERRA Worlds, and visit for more details, stories and video as get closer to off-road triathlon’s greatest day…


MEN’S PRO START LIST (Alpha by Country)

AUSTRALIA: Ben Allen, Courtney Atkinson

BELGIUM: Kris Coddens, Yeray Luxem, Jim Thijs

BRAZIL: Felipe Moletta, Bruno Silva

CANADA: Brent McMahon

COSTA RICA: Leonardo Chacon

CZECH: Jan Francke, Jan Kubicek

FRANCE: Francois Carloni, Brice Daubord, Marvin Gruget, Nico Lebrun

GERMANY: Dennis Kruse, Felix Schumann

GREAT BRITAIN: Asa Shaw, Richard Stannard

ITALY: Fabio Guidelli

NEW ZEALAND: Braden Currie

SOUTH AFRICA: Dan Hugo, Richard Murray, Conrad Stoltz

SPAIN: Hector Guerra, Ruben Ruzafa

SWITZERLAND: Olivier Marceau

USA: Grant Bovee, Chris Ganter, Ryan Ignatz, Andy Lee, Kyle Leto, Jason Michalak, Josiah Middaugh, Branden Rakita, Will Ross, Tim Snow, Adam Wirth

Past XTERRA World Champs in Bold


WOMEN’S PRO START LIST (Alpha by Country)

AUSTRALIA: Tamara Donelson

AUSTRIA: Carina Wasle

BRAZIL: Laura Mira Dias

CANADA: Katie Button, Brandi Heisterman, Christine Jeffrey, Danelle Kabush, Melanie McQuaid, Chantell Widney

CHILE: Barbara Riveros

CZECH: Helena Erbenova

DENMARK: Nienke Oostra

GERMANY: Kathrin Muller

GREAT BRITAIN: Julie Dibens, Daz Parker, Lesley Paterson, Jacqui Slack

ITALY: Genziana Cenni

JAPAN: Mieko Carey

MEXICO: Dunia Gomez

NEW ZEALAND: Sarah Backler, Elizabeth Orchard, Nicky Samuels

SOUTH AFRICA: Carla Van Huyssteen

SWITZERLAND: Renata Bucher

USA: Caroline Colonna, Emma Garrard, Heather Jackson, Suzie Snyder, Shonny Vanlandingham

Past XTERRA World Champs in Bold

The XTERRA World Championship is presented by Paul Mitchell, AVIA, Maui Visitors Bureau, The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, and Outrigger Hotels & Resorts. Sponsored by Muscle Milk, Kapalua Resort, Gatorade, PowerBar, T S Restaurants, Hawaii Tourism Authority, LifeProof, Island Air, Footbalance, Zorrel, Rudy Project, Kona Brewing Company, XTERRA Wetsuits, Live More Card, Rockwell Watches, and XTERRA Fitness.

About TEAM Unlimited/XTERRA

TEAM Unlimited is a Hawaii-based television events and marketing company, founded in 1988.  It owns and produces XTERRA and in 2013 will offer more than 300 XTERRA off-road triathlon and trail running races in 18 countries worldwide.  In the U.S. alone nearly 200,000 participants took part in the XTERRA lifestyle last year.  In addition, TEAM TV has produced more than 300 adventure television shows resulting in three Emmy’s and 42 Telly Awards for production excellence since 1990.  View samples at, and learn more at and



Maui Welcomes World’s Best, XTERRA Style

Contact Info

Trey Garman

Share This Article


Submit Your Press Release

Get your news delivered to thousands of media contacts and industry insiders in the running, cycling and triathlon industries now.


Join ESW Today!