Deadline to Nominate Deserving Individuals and Organizations for the RRCA National Running Awards is January 3

December 13, 2019

Winners will be honored at the RRCA’s National Running Awards Banquet,  March 21, 2020, in Portland, Oregon

Since 1971, the RRCA has honored dedicated individuals and organizations for their service to the running community through the RRCA Distance Running Hall of Fame and its National Running Awards.

The RRCA will provide a $500 travel stipend and one complementary ticket for each award winner to the 2020 RRCA National Running Awards Banquet, which is part of the RRCA’s 62nd Convention in Portland, OR. The nomination deadline is 5:00 PM Eastern January 3, 2020. The period of performance for ​nominees is January 1, 2019 through December 31, 2019 for all awards except the Browning Ross Spirit of the RRCA award, which is a lifetime achievement award.

RRCA National Running Award Categories

Browning Ross Spirit of the RRCA: Honors a club member who is an unsung hero that champions the RRCA and their local club/events in their community.

Outstanding Club President of the Year: Honors an outstanding RRCA club president for the year.

Road Runners of the Year: Honors top male and female open, masters U.S. runners with outstanding records of distance racing performance during the year.

Challenged Athlete of the Year:
Honors an outstanding physically challenged athlete of the year (male or female).

Excellence in Communications: Honors a club or event that has a comprehensive communications strategy, that is ideally volunteer-managed, including a​n outstanding website, active social media engagement, and an outstanding e-newsletters/blasts or printed newsletters.

Excellence in Running Journalism: Honors a top writer that is either paid or unpaid to write for a running publication, club newsletter, website, blog, etc.

Outstanding Volunteer of the Year: Honors an outstanding volunteer (excluding the president) of a local club or event.

Outstanding RRCS State Representative of the Year: Honors the outstanding service of an RRCA State Representative for the year.  This award is given in recognition of the first Outstanding State Rep, Al Becken.

Outstanding Youth Program Director of the Year: Honors an individual who is dedicated to promoting ​youth running and/or coordinating an outstanding ​youth running program in their community.

Outstanding Beginning Running Program: Honors a beginning running program hosted by a nonprofit club that engages new or returning runners to the sport, regardless of their gender.

RRCA’s Road Race of the Year:
Honors a nonprofit-organized race that is safe, well-organized, promotes running by being locally owned, and promotes the mission of the RRCA.

Nominate a deserving individual or organization for an RRCA National Running Award by simply following the nomination instructions, print a copy for your records, and click submit.

​Learn about past RRCA National Running Award Winners.

About the RRCA: The Road Runners Club of America (RRCA) is the oldest and largest national association of running organizations and runners dedicated to growing the sport since 1958. The RRCA champions the development of community-based running clubs and events that serve runners of all ages and abilities in pursuit of health and competition. The RRCA’s vision is to see an organized running club established in every community in the U.S. To learn more, visit: www.RRCA.org

#          #          #