Athletes Erin Baker and Scott Molina, Contributors Ken Baggs and Rocky Campbell to be Inducted into IRONMAN Hall of Fame

June 29th, 2018

Athletes Erin Baker and Scott Molina, Contributors Ken Baggs and Rocky Campbell to be Inducted into IRONMAN Hall of Fame

Former IRONMAN World Champions and leaders honored for their dedication, passion and contributions to the sport

TAMPA, Fla. (June 29, 2018) – IRONMAN, a Wanda Sports Holdings company, is pleased to announce the IRONMAN® Hall of Fame Induction Class of 2018: athletes Erin Baker and Scott Molina and IRONMAN contributors Ken Baggs and Rocky Campbell. The ceremony will be held on October 10 during race week at the 2018 IRONMAN® World Championship, in Kailua-Kona, Hawai`i.

“As we celebrate our 40th Anniversary of IRONMAN, it is fitting that we induct these four deserving individuals who have had a major impact on and contribution to IRONMAN,” said Andrew Messick, Chief Executive Officer of IRONMAN. “Erin, Scott, Ken and Rocky each in their own way have had a hand in shaping what the sport has become today and deserve to be recognized among IRONMAN’s elite.”

Erin Baker is a two-time IRONMAN World Champion having won in 1987 and 1990. Commonly known for her long-standing rivalry with 8-time IRONMAN World Champion and fellow Hall of Famer, Paula Newby-Fraser, Baker was a force of her own, winning 104 of the 121 races she entered. In her career, Baker was impressive at every level, earning titles at the ITU World Championship, ITU Duathlon World Championship and IRONMAN World Championship. She has been a champion of the sport and continues to be known as one of the best female triathletes of all time. Baker is also a 1995 inductee to the New Zealand Sports Hall of Fame.

Scott Molina was a member of the famed “Big Four” consisting of fellow athletes Dave Scott, Mark Allen and Scott Tinley, who all pioneered the sport of triathlon and dominated the racing through the 1980s and into the 1990s. Molina won the 1988 IRONMAN World Championship and became known as “The Terminator” in his racing days. One of the most prolific triathletes, Molina competed in more than 250 major races and earned over 100 professional victories. He won the inaugural IRONMAN New Zealand in 1985, which was the first IRONMAN event to be held outside of Hawai`i. Molina remains a pillar in the sport of triathlon with his continued involvement through triathlon coaching and training camps.

Ken Baggs was instrumental in the creation of IRONMAN in Australia, working in the region for 30 years (1984-2014). He was one of the original members of the organizing committee for the inaugural IRONMAN Australia race in 1985, becoming the race director in 1987. He also founded IRONMAN Western Australia and served as the race director for both races until 2012. Baggs is considered an integral part of the early team responsible for establishing rules, safety and operation procedures globally as IRONMAN was growing from a single race in Hawai`i to events worldwide.

Rocky Campbell can be considered one of the foundational members of the IRONMAN family as one of the original and longest-tenured IRONMAN World Championship volunteers. For nearly 40 years, Campbell has helped shape and showcase the importance of volunteerism to the success of IRONMAN. Serving as volunteer director for the last 33 years, Campbell first began as an aid-station volunteer before taking on roles with the swim course, construction, and action management. Campbell joins fellow volunteer Bob Laird in the IRONMAN Hall of Fame. If it were not for their passion, belief in a dream and their willingness to give of themselves for others, IRONMAN and the IRONMAN World Championship likely would not be where they are today.

Founded in 1993, the IRONMAN Hall of Fame was created to honor individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the growth of the world’s most famous endurance race series. Baker, Molina, Baggs and Campbell join a prestigious list of remarkable individuals honored for what they have given to the sport of triathlon and IRONMAN both inside and outside of competition.

IRONMAN Hall of Fame:

Year / Inductee(s)

1993 – Dave Scott
1994 – Julie Moss
1995 – Scott Tinley
1996 – Paula Newby-Fraser
1997 – Mark Allen
1998 – John and Judy Collins
1999 – Valerie Silk
2000 – Tom Warren
2001 – Dr. Bob Laird
2002 – Bob Babbitt
2003 – John MacLean / Gordon Haller / Lyn Lemaire
2004 – Greg Welch
2005 – Jim Maclaren
2008 – Team Hoyt – Rick and Dick Hoyt
2011 – Mike Reilly
2012 – Graham Fraser
2013 – Peter Henning
2014 – Georg Hochegger / Helge Lorenz / Stefan Petschnig
2015 – Lori Bowden / Heather Fuhr
2016 – Lew Friedland / Peter Reid
2017 – Chrissie Wellington
2018 – Ken Baggs / Erin Baker / Rocky Campbell / Scott Molina

For more information about the IRONMAN Hall of Fame and its members, visit The IRONMAN Hall of Fame video can be viewed on the IRONMAN YouTube channel located here.

For more information on the IRONMAN brand and global event series, visit Media-related inquiries should be directed to

Erin Baker and Scott Molina reaction to their selection

“What a wonderful honor to receive and I’m absolutely thrilled to be receiving this with my dear man [Scott Molina],” said Erin Baker. “Although we live at the end of the planet, IRONMAN still keeps us in touch with our triathlon friends all over the globe. So happy to be part of this wonderful community as it still such a big part of our lives.”

“Wow! Such a wonderful group of people to be associated with,” said Scott Molina. “Very, very honored and proud to be associated with so many legends in our sport, many of whom I’ve known and followed for so many years.”



A Wanda Sports Holdings company, IRONMAN operates a global portfolio of events that includes the IRONMAN® Triathlon Series, the IRONMAN®70.3® Triathlon Series, 5150™ Triathlon Series, the Rock n’ Roll Marathon Series®, Iron Girl®, IRONKIDS®, International Triathlon Union World Triathlon Series races, road cycling events including the UCI Velothon® Series, mountain bike races including the Absa Cape Epic®, premier marathons including the Standard Chartered Singapore Marathon, and other multisport races. IRONMAN’s events, together with all other Wanda Sports Holdings events, provide more than a million participants annually the benefits of endurance sports through the company’s vast offerings. The iconic IRONMAN® Series of events is the largest participation sports platform in the world. Since the inception of the IRONMAN® brand in 1978, athletes have proven that ANYTHING IS POSSIBLE® by crossing finish lines at the world’s most challenging endurance races. Beginning as a single race, IRONMAN has grown to become a global sensation with more than 230 events across 53 countries. For more information, visit

About Wanda Sports Holdings

Wanda Sports Holdings is the world’s leading sports business entity, founded to capture the opportunities in the global sports industry and to contribute to the prosperous international sports landscape – in three key areas: 1) Spectator Sports (media and marketing business), 2) Participation Sports (active lifestyle business), 3) Services (digital, production and service business). Wanda Sports Holding incorporates th


Athletes Erin Baker and Scott Molina, Contributors Ken Baggs and Rocky Campbell to be Inducted into IRONMAN Hall of Fame

Contact Info

Dan Berglund

Share This Article


Submit Your Press Release

Get your news delivered to thousands of media contacts and industry insiders in the running, cycling and triathlon industries now.


Join ESW Today!