2015 Election Results Announced

November 18th, 2015

New terms for Board of Directors and Regional Councils begin January 2016

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — The 2015 USA Triathlon election is complete, and Staci Brode, Kat Donatello, Chuck Graziano and Barry Siff were elected to the USA Triathlon Board of Directors for four-year terms.

Brode, Graziano and Siff were re-elected as the incumbent Board members in their respective regions, while Donatello joins the national Board of Directors for the first time. The four-year terms will begin in January 2016.

Brode (Dallas, Texas) joined the Board of Directors in 2015 to fill a vacant seat for the South Midwest Region, and has served as a respected triathlon coach and race director since 2004. Graziano (Ramsey, N.J.) was appointed to represent the Mid-Atlantic Region in 2014, and also served on the Board from 2005-07. Graziano has been chair of the Age Group Committee and helped create the USA Triathlon Hall of Fame.

Siff (Tucson, Ariz.) is the current President of the Board of Directors and was re-elected in the Midwest Region. Siff, who was recently elected to the ITU Executive Board, has been a member of the triathlon community for 30 years as an athlete, race director and coach. The President and other officer positions will be elected by the Board of Directors at the first regular meeting of 2016.

Donatello (Eliot, Maine) is the new Northeast Region representative, following her time spent in co-chair positions on USA Triathlon’s Athlete of the Year and Age Group Committees, as well as serving as the chair of the Northeast Regional Council. Donatello is also an athlete, race director and coach.

Steve Sexton (Raleigh, N.C.) retains his seat on the Board as the Elite/Pro Athlete Representative, a two-year term. Sexton has held a seat with the Board since 2010, and retains his seat on the Athlete Advisory Council (AAC) by virtue of his election to the Board as Elite/Pro Athlete Representative. Gwen Jorgensen (St. Paul, Minn.) was re-elected to the AAC after first joining the Council in 2013, and Erin Jones (Hood River, Ore.) was also elected to the AAC as a new member. Jorgensen and Jones also serve two-year terms.

Additionally, all 10 USA Triathlon Regions elected members to their respective Regional Councils for a total of 54 Council members (listed below). USA Triathlon annual members in good standing were eligible to vote for Board and Regional Council representatives from their respective Regions. More information on the 2015 USA Triathlon Elections – including candidate platforms – can be found at usatriathlon.org.

Florida Region

Lacey Chimienti

James Sheets

Jerry Johnson

Roger H. McVeigh

Gabriel Saavedra

Nick Valaitis

Mid-Atlantic Region

Todd Lippin

JoAnna Younts

Brenda Barrera

Robert Vigorito

Ken Modica

Cory Churches

Mideast Region

Daniel Tun

Michael Groaning

Michael Wendorf

Paul Plummer

Todd Baldi

Jereme Grinslade

Robert Garren

Midwest Region

Alex Syhlman

Jeff Mortensen

Kim J. Patrick

Carrie Tysdahl

Colin Grove

Lucy Harr

Northeast Region

Thomas C. Henell

Justin Model

Joseph Bachana

Pacific Northwest Region

Caroline E. Faure, EdD, ATC

Daniel Flahiff

Judith Ann Coyle

Jonathan A. Woodman

Rocky Mountain Region

Andie Talmadge

Byron Piatt

Scott Bennefield

Dan Frost

Jonathan Mason

Warner S. Smith III

Suzanne Martin

Joseph Gregg

Marvin L. Shockey

Jeremy R. Trembly

Traci C. Ciepiela

Southeast Region

Alex Bell

Anne Chrzanowski

Ella Haile Dunn

South Midwest Region

John Ricca

Southwest Region

J. Ritterbeck

Casey Meizinger

Judi Carbary

Muhammad Rafi

Chris Morrissey

Jeffery Carstensen

About USA Triathlon

USA Triathlon is proud to serve as the National Governing Body for triathlon, as well as duathlon, aquathlon, aquabike, winter triathlon, off-road triathlon and paratriathlon in the United States. Founded in 1982, USA Triathlon sanctions more than 4,300 races and connects with nearly 500,000 members each year, making it the largest multisport organization in the world. In addition to its work with athletes, coaches, and race directors on the grassroots level, USA Triathlon provides leadership and support to elite athletes competing at international events, including International Triathlon Union (ITU) World Championships, Pan American Games and the Olympic and Paralympic Games. USA Triathlon is a proud member of the ITU and the United States Olympic Committee (USOC).

USA Triathlon

2015 Election Results Announced

Contact Info

Lindsay Wyskowski

Share This Article


Submit Your Press Release

Get your news delivered to thousands of media contacts and industry insiders in the running, cycling and triathlon industries now.


Join ESW Today!